As infections surge within the South and the West, the governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut — three former sizzling spots within the Northeast — referred to as on Tuesday for vacationers from California and several other different states struggling to include outbreaks to quarantine for 14 days upon reaching their states.

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo of New York, a Democrat, stated that guests from an additional eight states — California, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee — can be required to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival within the state. Individuals touring to New York from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah had already been informed to quarantine.

New Jersey and Connecticut are advising vacationers from the 16 states to quarantine.

It was the newest instance of how the shifting geography of the outbreak is as soon as once more upending journey rules. The tristate space’s new restrictions now cowl vacationers from the nation’s most populous states, and from a number of of the busiest airports within the nation, together with these in Atlanta, Los Angeles and Dallas-Fort Price.

In Massachusetts, which had beforehand required all guests to quarantine for 14 days, Gov. Charlie Baker, a Republican, announced on Tuesday that starting on Wednesday, the state would not require vacationers from Rhode Island, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, New York and New Jersey to take action. “As a consequence of decrease an infection charges throughout the Northeast area, our administration is updating our state’s journey steerage,” he stated.

Different locations are taking totally different approaches.

Beginning July 15, individuals touring to Puerto Rico can be required to deliver proof of a damaging check taken inside three days of their arrival, the governor introduced Tuesday. Anybody who doesn’t have one can be examined, and people who check optimistic should quarantine for 2 weeks, and should assume all medical and housing prices.

On Monday, the Division of Protection announced that it had lifted journey restrictions for service members to all but three states: California, Florida and Michigan.

Source link